Skip to content

Do you Lovefre.sh?

February 27, 2011

That’s not a typo in the title of this post. It’s actually a website, and a mobile app. Lovefre.sh, as well as having a fascinating web address, is a cool new concept where you can discover locally produced food. Using location based technology (sat nav), you can ‘check-in’ when you find a new local producer and add a photo, description and (if you’re feeling really brave, or drunk) live podcast style audio.

Lovefre.sh

I have downloaded the app to my iphone and had a bit of a play (and why not when it’s free), and found that there are very few local producers around me. This is a problem many people seem to have with the app. However, it’s one of those chicken and egg things. It’s ‘crowd sourced’ information, and therefore, if people haven’t uploaded the producers locations then there is nothing to see, this then puts people off. The more people that add to it the better it will be.

I haven’t added to it yet, but I do really like the concept, and since I am now a ‘food blogger’ (in the loosest sense of the term), I suppose I should try to source some food locally because that’s more interesting than Sainsburys. I think this may be another one of those Peoples Supermarket type things, and I’m a fan of that (last episode tonight!).

Sourced from my fridge and kitchen today (without the use of lovefre.sh):

12:20- One breakfast muffin, with flora
15:00- Some flapjack bites
16:10- Bag of chilli sensations
17:00- Another muffin but with real butter. The difference is astounding.
19:00- Roast: beef, potatoes, carrot, cauliflower cheese, broccoli
21:30- 3 ginger biscuits

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

