Skip to content

Marmite Update: A state of confusion!

March 2, 2011
Marmite

Image by Micool Fordham

My mouth was confused this morning. Since I have been regularly eating Marmite in a pointless attempt to like it, I’ve written about the stages I thought I would go through towards loving it. This morning, however, I entered a phase I didn’t think existed, confusion. I half liked it and half didn’t.

For the first time I enjoyed the first bite of my Marmite covered toast, but the feeling of enjoyment was quickly outlived and replaced by a bitter disliking. Why? How strange that I should like and dislike at almost the same time. A note to the marketing team at Marmite: what I experienced this morning was definitely neither love or hate.

Some food:

8:00– toast and marmite
13:00– Thai curry veg pot
15:00– banana
17:10– Hot cross bun
18:00– cookie
19:00– Burger and micro chips

4 Comments leave one →
  1. leef352 permalink*
    March 2, 2011 3:39 pm

    Goes back to the old #likemarmite…

    • March 2, 2011 6:11 pm

      Very much so… I no longer hate it but I am a million miles from loving it.

  2. Lor permalink
    March 15, 2011 7:26 am

    While most people believe that Marmite comes out of a jar or comes from an inaccessible shelf in their local Supermarket, scientist Professor Brian Cox (in a programme that may have upset some Creationists) shed new light on its origins in Sunday’s episode of “Wonders Of The Universe”. In what came as a bizarre surprise to many, it turns out that the essential, fundamental ingredients for Marmite actually come from the highly complex thermo-nuclear processes deep within the cores of dying Red Giants and White Dwarfs.

    Cox explained that white dwarfs were the final evolutionary state of stars whose mass was not high enough to become supernovae—over 97% of the stars in our galaxy. After the hydrogen–fusing lifetime of a main-sequence star of low or medium mass ends, it will expand to a red giant which fuses helium to carbon and oxygen and further atomic building block of Marmite.

    Cox has so far avoided commenting on “Lor’s Law” but it is likely that this straight-talking scientist may have something to say about it in next week’s episode…

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00zdhtg

Leave a Reply

