Skip to content

Should Women BBQ?

June 2, 2011

Yesterday I talked about the magnetic attraction between man and BBQ here. I also posed the question; why are women not allowed near the BBQ; and is BBQ’ing innately gender specific?

Today I started my research into post 2.1 and at this early stage, key themes are beginning to emerge ranging from women accepting that the man BBQs to boost their ego and masculinity; to outrageously sexist, although commonplace, suggestions that women simply wouldn’t be able to BBQ ‘properly’. One participant stated:

‘I just couldn’t sit there and watch a woman mess it up’.

BBQ Chicken

Due to a serious lack of photos of women at the BBQ, these chicks will have to do

So, in order to take this research a little further I am going to conduct an experiment placing both men and women outside of their ‘traditional BBQ rolls’ (see what I did there!). I will shortly be hosting a BBQ where I will ask only the women to tend to the BBQ (from getting it lit, to cooking the meat); whilst the men must do the ‘traditional woman’s’ role such as fetching plates, cutting rolls, preparing nibbles and making sure the BBQ’ers have enough drinks. Oh… and the men will also have to do all the washing and clearing up.

I am personally very gender neutral on this one and believe that it will go down and storm and the food will be just as good as usual, although I am expecting men to find it difficult to stay away from the BBQ. My only concern came from another participant who went on to talk about the BBQ:

‘Do you have to plug BBQs in?’

What do you think? Comment below to have your views included in the final report.

Today’s food:

09.20 Toast with butter
11.00 Banana and Clementine x2
13.30 Thai Chicken Soup and Cheese topped roll with cookie
17.00 Cookie x2.5
19.20 Tagliatelle in tomato and garlic sauce by Laura.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Annette permalink
    June 2, 2011 7:11 pm

    Of course women can BBQ! We let men cook to give them a sense of achievement and to exercise their ancient hunter gatherer instincts. I am happy to be a guinea pig Lee to prove my point. I have many continuous years experience of BBQing (or braaing). Charcoal was our main cooking fuel in Zimbabwe cos we never had electricity or gas to cook on.

    The real and more challenging question is, “Can men make salads?”

  2. Annette permalink
    June 2, 2011 7:13 pm

    BTW, in my humble opinion, cooking on gas is cheating and the results are inferior to charcoal cooked food.

  3. becky! permalink
    June 3, 2011 6:53 pm

    in actual fact…….i have evidence that you can plug a bbq in!! 😛

    • Lee Fordham permalink*
      June 5, 2011 4:22 pm

      I can assure you your evidence will not be a ‘real’ BBQ 🙂

  4. Rebecca permalink
    June 7, 2011 12:08 pm

    I think the real question is do women WANT to BBQ! Or do we just sit back, pretend we’ll mess it up and enjoy the one time that men are willing to do the chores! 🙂

Leave a Reply

