Skip to content

Eat your way to a size Sheffield!

June 15, 2011

Hey foodies! Forget your plans for a summer diet. You’re out of luck – not with the Sheffield Food Festival back for its second year.

From the 4th – 10th July, will be the most foodi-licious offering available in South Yorkshire; celebrating all that is grown and produced locally. No doubt we’ll be served a heap of (waist bulging) showcases of Sheffield food producers, retailers and restaurants – I’ve heard to expect, fully grown Sheffield dairy cows in the city centre too – who’s let the cows out style!

For those we already know me, you’ll know how I love to hog the food limelight, so to take part in all this Food Fest’ excitement, I’ve set myself a Food Challenge which will see me eating my way through Sheffield… for a whole week! – The ‘Missie Eat Sheffield Food Week’ Challenge. I’ll be eating and drinking a huge range of Sheffield related produce, ranging from making my own foods at home (breakfasts and dinner) using Sheffield grown produce and also eating & drinking homemade Sheffield goodness made by a talented bunch of local foodies! You will have to visit my food blog: www.cindycheung.co.uk/Missie to look up the menu plan (tag: Food Challenges) or follow my food tweets: @MissieCindz – hashtag: #MissiesEatSheffieldFoodWeek – everything is looking very Sheffield-licious!

I’m hoping that the challenge will help to highlight (and introduce) to Sheffielders and visitors (‘Gastro Nutters’ like myself) the fabulous food scene our City has to offer all year round! Sausage rolls? passe; pre-packed soggy sarnies? Pah, it’s going to be all about ‘Eating Sheffield’ – meeting food producers and getting to know real food. It might be a bit difficult, but I’m sure it’s possible!

It’s going to be a bit of fun and, who knows I might get some really tasty recipes out of it. I often wonder where my food comes from and a challenge like this is not to be taken lightly (if any of you followed my Breakfast Week challenge on Twitter in January (like the guys at OCN did too, you’ll know how I like a good challenge). A big thank you to the Sheffield food producers, farmers and talented chefs for helping me with the ‘Missie Food Menu’ without Sheffield Food, my Challenge wouldn’t work!

Please do make room for lots of ‘forking’ and photo snapping action during this week – or perhaps you want to join me on my challenge? I’ll let you know how you can participate – just ‘like’ me on Facebook and details will be posted 🙂 Keep your eyes and forks on standby for the full list of food producers sponsoring my food challenge by generously feeding me food so make sure you keep your eyes open and enjoy the read.

Sheffield has a fab food scene and I’d like to share it with you in my own Missie way! This Challenge will be fun and rather interesting too. If any of you visit Sheffield during Sheffield Food Festival, tweet me and perhaps we can catch up and nom something Sheffield together!? 🙂

Let me know your thoughts about my food challenge – by posting your comments to the OCN guys below, any kind of feedback is helpful and would be good to know. Look forward to hearing from you.
Missie Cindz x

BTW, this is what I ate today too…

Breakfast (6.00): a huge bowl of honey nut shredded wheats with soya milk and a cuppa tea,
Morning snack (10.45): an apple
Lunch (13.05): A pub lunch at the Rutland Arms which was a steak sandwich with chips (swimming in tomato ketchup)
Snack: (16.00) 2 bourbons washed down with a cuppa tea
Dinner (18.30): homemade Chinese meal which included chicken wings in oyster sauce and straw mushrooms served with boiled rice and accompanied with a plate of pak choi, steamed fish and homemade soup (this was for 3 persons, not all for me! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

