Skip to content

Does breakfast really last till lunch?

July 7, 2011

This is the question that’s been troubling me for the last few days. Last week I barely ate a breakfast, yet I lasted fine until lunch time with no food intake what-so-ever.

Photo by malias | flickr

This week I’ve been eating breakfasts, as is recommended by many health professionals and backed up by much research. The problem is, I’m not feeling the benefits. I seem to be more hungry throughout the morning when I have eaten a breakfast than when I haven’t.

This is strange, because it should be the other way round. Should I go against all the research and advice and not eat a breakfast? This morning I had coco pops (not the best breakfast, I admit, but better than nothing?) and by 10:30 I was already hungry, by 11:30 I had eaten something. This wasn’t happening when I had no breakfast.

The probable cause is the social rules of eating times. I’ve been trained over the years to eat at certain times, regardless of the meal before I will always be hungry at lunch time because that’s when I think I should eat.

I’m going to have to test this theory with a breakfast experiment. Here is the hypothesis, based on the measurable aspects of the Top Ten Reasons to Eat Breakfast:

On days I eat a breakfast I will:

  • Be more productive before lunch time
  • Maintain a healthy weight
  • Experience improved memory

The experiment will last two weeks, following this structure:

  • Week one: Eat breakfast, monitor productivity and weight (and memory – nearly forgot!)
  • Week two: Eat no breakfast, monitor as above

The experiment will commence tomorrow.

The rest of my day in food:

8:30 Coco pops
11:20 Chewy bar
13:20 Cous cous
19:20 Harvest chewy bar
19:45 Chips, cheese and leek bake, bean burger (spicy) followed by a fabulous fab.
20:50 Bounty hunter graze box

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 10:33 am

    Major thanks for the article post. Will read on…

Leave a Reply

