Skip to content

Free Starbucks?

August 8, 2011
by

Jonathan Stark became an internet innovator recently when he posted free money for his friends to buy coffee with online. The message is simple – download the bar-code and then when it comes to paying for your coffee scan Jonathan’s card and there you go, free coffee.

Hi! I’m Jonathan Stark. You can download this picture of my Starbucks card to your phone and buy coffee at Starbucks with it. Seriously. My card gets charged, you don’t. Details are here.

If you’re feeling generous, you can also add money to my Starbucks card by doing this and enjoy some serious good karma.

Jonathan’s Card is an experiment in social sharing of physical goods using digital currency on mobile phones. I stumbled on the idea while doing research for a blog post about Broadcasting Mobile Currency.

Based on the similarity to the “take a penny, leave a penny” trays at convenience stores in the US, I’ve adopted a similar “get a coffee, give a coffee” terminology for Jonathan’s Card.

For live updates on the balance and photos from followers enjoying their free coffee you can follow @JonathansCard on Twitter:

Perryesp: got these for me and my wife courtesy of @jonathanscard. Cool social experiment! yfrog.com/kk9tbwcj

So tomorrow I will attempt to take the experiment one step further. If the card has money on it, then I will attempt to use US tender in an English Starbucks. Do you think that could work Jonathan?

Eaten Today:

07.55 Toast x2
12.20 Mushroom Stroganoff and Twix
18.10 Peanut Butter on Toast
22.10 Cheese and Pickle roll and wispa
Also eaten 3 Starburst and 12 skittles.

**UPDATE**

This afternoon I went into Starbucks Plymouth but they didn’t have a scanner so I will try in London next week where the technology is a little more advanced.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

