Skip to content

Nearing the End

December 28, 2011

The original Nugget from back in Janurary 2011

Can you believe that we’ve stuck this through? Nearly 365 days of One Chicken Nugget’s daily blog posts completed and I still think that we’ll give up before the end. I remember when we started on New Year’s day, it seemed like such a good idea at the time, but now 362 days later I feel a little differently.

The daily posting was the problem, but also the basis of the whole idea, so basically the idea was the problem. You wouldn’t think it would take all that much effort to scribble down exactly what you’ve eaten throughout the day and accompany it with a little bit of food related musing. But you would be wrong! It is difficult.

The main difficulty comes in the time it takes. I think that between 20 minutes and 2 hours most of OCN’s daily posts have been written, but even taking the short end of that scale leaves OCN accounting for 121 hours of my life this year (approx 5 days). Add to this the time spent on the redesign and relaunch and it would probably push it up another day or two. And I think these estimates are quite conservative.

Concluding, this type of one-a-day challenge will take up one of the 52 weeks you have in a year. Sound a lot? It is, particularly when you don’t get paid and 90% of it only irritates people. I would like to thank all of you who have read any of One Chicken Nugget, maybe taken some of your time to comment, or even posted yourself. However, someone who deserves a little more thanks is Tash (and Lee would probably say Laura). Neither of them asked for One Chicken Nugget to begin (they’ve almost definitely asked for it to end), yet Tash has had to put up with the inane drivel that I write down here taking up hours in the day when I could be doing something much more practical and helpful. I imagine that the effort it takes for me to write some of this nonsense, requires twice as much effort on Tash’s part not to smack me in the head and say, “what the hell are you doing?!”. So for that, I say thanks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

